Wellbeing models

In New Zealand two key frameworks are often used to help us understand wellbeing.

Te Whare Tapa Whā

Te Whare Tapa Whā was developed by Sir Mason Durie in 1984 and describes health and wellbeing as parts of a whare, with the four walls each representing different dimensions of wellbeing:

  • taha wairua (spiritual health)
  • taha tinana (physical health)
  • taha whānau (family health)
  • taha hinengaro (mental health)
  • whenua (land, roots)

Our connection with the land/whenua forms the foundation.
When all these things are in balance, we thrive.

(Ministry of Health, 2013).

Five Ways to Wellbeing

Five Ways to Wellbeing are five simple actions that are important to wellbeing.

Created following a review conducted by the New Economics Foundation’s (NEF) Foresight Project on Mental Capital and Wellbeing which found that building five actions into day to day lives is important for the wellbeing of individuals, families, communities and organisations.

Scroll to Top